The Temporary Lives of Man

398px-A_view_of_a_field_in_the_foreground_with_wind_turbines_and_city_scape_in_the_background“Man is like grass: we ought not to be startled at anything reminding us of our own frailty and mortality. All scripture and all history teach us that though man flourish as a flower for a moment, still he must soon wither like the grass. Blessed is he who habitually needs not to be reminded that he must die; and yet so far from being dejected thereby betakes himself to the Almighty, and in him finds friend, refuge, husband, Redeemer.” –William S. Plumer “Psalms” Ps. 103 p. 919

https://stilltheyspeak.wordpress.com/2017/06/16/man-is-like-grass/

2 Comments

  1. The reality of my mortality hit me at 17 when someone I knew died. I realised then I wasn’t immortal.
    I’m much older now. That ‘immortality’ is fast running out. But, the best is yet to come.

    God bless.

    Like

    1. I have seen death many times in my life, and I know how frail I am. I also know that I am immortal until my work here is done.

      It’s a balance, just like everything else. Once one realizes just how mortal he/she is, they value life more, they don’t take chances and risks, and they live each day as a gift.

      Like

Leave a Reply

